Academic & Core Services

Academic Council

Academic Council

The Academic Council and the Executive Committee which it elects are the chief instruments of faculty governance at The University of Lahore. The Bylaws of the University invite the Faculty in general, and the various quorums as well, to organize themselves in representative councils for discussion of matters of interest to each faculty grouping.

These councils provide for representation of considered faculty opinion to the Administration, and less directly to the Trustees and any other bodies.


The Academic Council consists of:

  • The Rector (Chairman)

  • All the Deans

  • All the Head of Departments/Institutes

  • All Professors and Associate Professor of the University.

  • Nominee of the Secretary Education not below the rank of Deputy Secretary. 

  • Two Associate Professors, Two Assistant Professors and Two Lecturers to be nominated by the board.

  • Three persons eminent in the field of arts and Sciences of whom at least one shall be from each category to be nominated by the board.

  • Director Academic, University Grants Commission

  • The Registrar (Member/Secretary)